New Year New Me

It’s been a while guys.  Christmas has been and gone, which was fabulous! It was so nice to relax with my family and not have to worry about chemo or radiotherapy.  Plus the fact that I was in remission.

So into 2018 we go with a clean slate.  As the hustle and bustle of Christmas leaves and the children return to school, normality settles down.  Suddenly you find yourself in a bizarre situation, no appointments, no doctors, no hospitals, no treatment just around the corner……no nothing.  Its such a strange feeling.

You go from having a normal life, doing the normal things we all do to being shell shocked and rocked after hearing those words, you have cancer.  Then it all disappears as quickly as it arrived.  I felt lost, wasn’t sure where my focus was.  I felt frustrated, my fitness wasn’t where I wanted it to be, I suppose because I felt better, had recovered from my mastectomy, I expected my fitness to return quicker than it was.  It’s very hard to explain without having gone through it yourself.

So I do what I do best and look for the positives.  I gave myself a talking to and took a moment to realise what I have been through, what my body has been through.  How far I have come in the last 9 months.  I am stronger than I have ever been, not physically but mentally.

At the moment I am back on the fitness train, building my strength back up and working on my summer body!

Recently I was contacted by Macmillan about my story and they asked to feature me in a press release they were doing for World Cancer Day on Sunday 4th February.  They are raising awareness of how cancer sufferers partially women are turning to social media for support and inspiration whilst battling cancer.  Today I was featured in the Daily Mirror.  I am super proud that I can continue to inspire others with my story.

3673BEC4-4EE1-44F7-972D-64AAC8EB0038

2 thoughts on “New Year New Me

Leave a comment